US, French, Canadian scientists win Nobel Physics Prize for work on laser physics

American Arthur Ashken, French Gerard Mourou and Canadian Donna Strickland were awarded the Nobel Physics Prize on Tuesday, the award-giving body said on Tuesday.

One half was awarded to Askin “for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems” and the other half to Mourou and Strickland “for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses”.

“The inventions being honored this year have revolutionized laser physics,” the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said on awarding the nine million Swedish crown ($1 million) prize.

“Advanced precision instruments are opening up unexplored areas of research and a multitude of industrial and medical applications,” it said in a statement.

Source: Daily Sabah


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here