Congress MLAs are not happy after cabinet expansion: Deputy CM

Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara has said that his party members are not happy with the portfolio distribution. Parameshwara said, “We had a meeting today and we discussed various issues. We reviewed the status of projects that the previous government had begun. The present political situation was also discussed wherein some of our MLAs were not happy after the cabinet expansion.”

Congress was given 22 ministries while 12 went to JDS camp. Home, irrigation, health, agriculture and women and child welfare ministries are given to Congress while finance and excise, public works department, education, tourism are given to JDS.

On June 7, Congress party workers protested as expectant candidates Roshan Baig and Ramalinga Reddy were not given ministerial berths. Roshan Baig and Ramalinga Reddy are considered senior leaders in Karanataka. Apart from Baig and Reddy, the expectant candidates from the Congress party who were dropped from the cabinet include M.B. Patil, Dinesh Gundu Rao, H.K. Patil, Shyamnur Shivashankarappa, Tanvir Sait, Satish Jarkhiholi, N.A. Harris, Dr Sudhakar, Rahim Khan, Bhyrati Basavaraju, S. Shivalli, Satish Jarakiholi, Eshwar Khandre and M.T.B. Nagaraj.