Karnataka Elections: Congress releases final list, No ticket for Mehul Choksi’s lawyer

The Congress on Sunday released the second list of 11 candidates for the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections. In the new list, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah replaced Dr. Devraj Patil as the candidate from Badami constituency, while KP Chandrakala replaced HS Chandra Mouli as the candidate from Madikeri.

Mouli is reportedly the lawyer of fraudster businessman Mehul Choksi. In addition, candidates for four other seats were also changed. Congress MLA NA Haris is also got the ticket. He is re-nominated from Shanthinagara Assembly seat in Bengaluru, weeks after putting his ticket on hold over the assault allegations against his son Mohammad Nalapad. The state Congress had earlier decided against giving him the ticket but the party finally decided in giving him the ticket as he is the only candidate who is very popular here.

Haris’ son Mohammad Nalapad has been expelled from the Youth Congress two months ago after the assault which hit national headlines. The Karnataka High Court dismissed his bail application and the state government filed a caveat in the Supreme Court opposing his bail. Haris is a two-time MLA from Shanthinagara, a Muslim, Christian and Dalit-dominated Assembly seat in Bengaluru.
On April 15, the party released its first list of 218 candidates, in which it was announced that the Chief Minister will be contesting from Chamundeshwari constituency.

Siddaramaiah is contesting the elections from two seats- Badami and Chamundeshwari.Karnataka will go to polls on May 12 to elect its representatives for the 225-member assembly. The results will be out on May 15.