JNU Election: Left Unity leads in 3 out of 4 posts, ABVP, BAPSA far behind

JNU students polls

NEW DELHI: Results of student union elections in Jawaharlal Nehru University indicate a rising in the Left Unity panel in three out of four posts. The candidates for ABVP and BAPSA were trailing after a total of 900 votes were counted.

The elections for the student union that took place on Friday saw 60% voter turnout remarkably higher than the last two years. More than 5,000 votes were polled.

This time, the SFI and AISA have come together on a platform of Left Unity to counter the ABVP and two-year-old Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students’ Association (BAPSA).

Mohit of Left Unity faction,for the president’s post, led by 427 votes to 113 for Jahnavi of ABVP and 279 for Rahul of BAPSA. For the vice president’s post, again the Left Unity candidate, Amal PP was leading by more than 300 votes to the nearest opposition candidate. Its only for the joint secretary’s post, the Left Unity panel faces a tough opposition where Pratim Ghosal of DSF has emerged as a strong contender.

The university elections have come to assume greater than ever significance and importance after the February 9 incident, in which anti-national slogans were allegedly blurted in the university campus.

Kanhaiya Kumar, outgoing president of the students union and leader of the AISF, was arrested on sedition charges and later released on bail. Two other leaders, Umar Khalid and Anirban, were also arrested to be later released on bail. Kanhaiya’s AISF is not in the fray this time.

Creating a paradox, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the student outfit affiliated to the RSS, stopped short of sweeping the students union elections in Delhi University, winning three out of four posts on Friday. The Congress’s NSUI won one post.

Winners from ABVP engage with the crowd.
Winners from ABVP engage with the crowd.

ABVP  won the posts of president, vice-president and secretary of the students union, popularly known as DUSU. The NSUI won the post of Joint Secretary.

Amit Tanwar (President), Priyanka Chabri (Vice President), Ankit Sangwan (Secretary), , all stand winners from ABVP. Mohit Sangwan, NSUI was elected as joint secretary. Tanwar, a first year MA Hindi student of PGDAV college, has been active in the ABVP for the last four years.

The results are a minor setback for the ABVP which had swept all four posts in 2014 and 2015, defeating the predominant NSUI and CYSS (students wing of the Aam Aadmi Party) and AISA. This year, the CYSS pulled out of the elections as they failed to win a single post last year.