Elections to 18 Rajya Sabha seats to be held on June 19

The Election Commission has issued revised dates for polls on 18 Rajya Sabha seats. The elections, which earlier scheduled to be held on March 26, will now be held on June 19.

Pending elections to 18 Rajya Sabha seats from 10 states will be held on June 19. The elections to these seats were to be held on March 26 but were postponed due to a nationwide lockdown in wake of Covid-19 outbreak.

In February, the Election Commission had announced elections to fill 55 seats from 17 states, to be vacated by members retiring in April. On the last date of withdrawal of nominations, March 18, returning officers declared 37 seats from 10 states filled uncontested.

The polling for the remaining 18 was to be held on March 26.

The Election Commission in its notification said that the polls were postponed due to the Covid-19 outbreak. But in view of the guidelines issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs on May 30, the commission said it decided to go ahead with the polls.

The elections are to be conducted for 18 seats from Andhra Pradesh (4 seats), Gujarat (4 seats), Jharkhand (2 seats), Madhya Pradesh (3 seats), Manipur (1 seat), Meghalaya (1 seat) and Rajasthan (3 seats).

The polling will be held between 9 am and 4 pm on June 19 and the counting of votes will take place on the same day after 5 pm.

Source: India Today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here